Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala

Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Madras, India

Professor, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Madras

Leads, Telecommunications and Computer Networks group (TeNeT), IIT, Madras

Chair, Rural Technology and Business Incubator (RTBI), IIT Madras

Chair, Mobile Payment Forum of India (MPFI)

Member of Prime Minister’s Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Research Interests: Technologies for Rural Areas; Telecommunications and Wireless Systems
  • Director in the Board of TTML, Polaris, 3i Infotech, Sasken, Tejas, Tata Communications and Exicom
  • Telecommunications and Computer Networks group (TeNeT), led by him, works with industry in the development of technologies relevant to India; it has incubated over 35 companies in the last twenty years
  • Assistant Professor, Washington State University (1979-1981)
  • Fellow of World Wireless Research Forum
  • Fellow of IEEE
  • Fellow of Indian academies including INAE, IAS, INSA and NAS
  • Awarded Top Innovator of Top 11 Innovators Challenge (2011)
  • Awarded Dronacharya by TiE (2011)
  • Awarded Honorary Doctorate by University of Maine (USA, 2010)
  • Awarded JC Bose Fellowship by DST, Government of India (2010)
  • Awarded “Bharat Asmita Vigyaan –Tantragyaan Shresththa Award” for the best use of Science & Technology through Innovation (2010)
  • Awarded Bernard Low Humanitarian Award (2009)
  • Awarded Honorary Doctorate by the Institute of Blekinge Institute of Technology (Sweden, 2008)
  • Awarded Honorary Doctorate by the University of Maine (USA, 2010)
  • Awarded IBM Innovation and Leadership Forum Award by IBM (2006)
  • Awarded Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Lecture Award by INSA (2006)
  • Awarded Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Foundation Award for Science & Technology (2004)
  • Awarded H. K. Firodia for ‘Excellence in Science & Technology’ (2002)
  • Awarded Padma Shri Award (2002)
  • Awarded Millennium Medal at Indian Science Congress (2000)
  • Awarded Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (1998)
  • Awarded Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Research Award (1997)